Legislation is now.

Is your site compliant?

Governments across the world are recognizing the importance of accessible information on the internet and legislative mandatory standards of accessible design.

We will help you ensure your website is accessibility compliant with standards in your jurisdiction.

Legislation & Standards


WCAG 2.0 (World Wide Web Consortium)
Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) were produced by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), the main international standards organization for the internet, under their Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI). WCAG aims to make content accessible, primarily for people with disabilities, but also for all mediums, including highly limited devices, such as mobile phones. The current version, WCAG 2.0 became an ISO standard, ISO/IEC 40500:2012 in October 2012.

WCAG contains a comprehensive set of accessibility criteria, from design to colour formatting, to context and the use of user-embedded interfaces.

PDF/UA (PDF/Universal Accessibility) is the informal name for ISO 14289, the International Standard for accessible PDF technology. These standards were developed specifically for the PDF document format and are quickly becoming industry norms for outward facing publications. True conformance and use of embedded features only comes with manual document programming.


Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA)
The Government of Ontario and the Legislative Assembly shall make their internet and intranet websites and web content conform with the World Wide Web Consortium Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, at Level AA. By January 1, 2016, all government internet websites and web content must conform to WCAG 2.0 Level AA. All other organizations of more than 50 employees and new internet websites and web content on those sites must conform with WCAG 2.0 Level A.

United States: 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
The Americans and Disabilities Act is a wide-ranging civil rights law that prohibits discrimination based on disability. Under ADA, information must be provided in an accessible format to any American upon request.

Section 508 of the U.S. Rehabilitation Act
Under the Rehabilitation Act, s.508 , all Federal agencies are required to make their electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities.


The British Standard for Web Accessibility (8878)
The British Standard for Web Acccessibility is the first British standard and a framework for the development of a web presence. It includes requirements and provisions in the Eqaulity Act, 2010 and design elements which must be met for legal and regulatory compliance, stating that organizations must develop usable websites for all users. 

New Zealand

Web Accessibility Standard 1.0
Requirements of Section 2 in the standard state that by June 2015, every web page created, redesigned, or redeveloped since 01 July 2014 must be WCAG 2.0 'AA' accessible.